• Our Minecraft servers are offline but we will keep this forum online for any community communication. Site permissions for posting could change at a later date but will remain online.

What do you look for in a map?

Logicalllama

Survivor
Reaction score
So, I was thinking about working on a map for MCSG, as it would be nice to pay back in some way all the hours of fun this gamemode has granted me. I'm a good builder, and nothing is entirely out of my limits. I know a lot about map making, being a part of TeamVareide. So, down to the question, what do you guys look for in an MCSG map? Yes, Breeze and sg4 are the most popular, but I don't want to create a map as small, simple and condensed as that. I want to make something with a little depth. I am swaying more towards the idea of a map set on skylands. Yes its been done, but no offence to the builder/s, it was done poorly. It's basically a random generated world that flys. My favourite style is medieval steampunk-ish builds, and they fit together well.
If you have any suggestions, please tell me them, and they will most probably be implemented into my project.
Thanks!
-Llama:D

iMightTroll

Diamond
Reaction score
Chests

But in serious , I like maps like teweran because it has high detail and its fun to roam around in. Every time it comes up in voting I get SO tempted to spam DO /v 4.

Zeno

Platinum
Reaction score
Feeling too sick to really do an in depth analysis for what makes a map good, but I'll do my best (will expand on this later, just getting basic idea down now).

1. Gameplay
2. Unique Theme
3. Size (Games should not take too long, yet have depth for actual map character)
4. Chest distribution
5. Terrain
6. Awesome builds
7. No death pits/inescapable holes
8. Easter eggs :D
9. General awesomeness

Toast

District 13
Reaction score
  • Unique cornucopia design
  • Hill'y evironment
  • Elabrate structures
  • Elabrate redstone traps
  • Unique terraforming style